1. Welcome to the Brawl website! Feel free to look around our forums. Join our growing community by typing /register in-game!

General Building Guide by PixelBiester

Discussion in 'Guides' started by Lekosa1, Dec 14, 2017.

Thread Status:
Please be aware that this thread is more than 30 days old. Do not post unless the topic can still be discussed. Read more...
  1. Lekosa1

Lekosa1 mineman

Ratings:
    +1,677
    Found this great guide by PixelBiester, exposing general building mistakes in smaller builds. I see the same mistakes he lists very often on build, so I thought it'd be handy to share the video. He speaks German, but as a Builder I understand the main points he makes and thus I'll list them below to help understand the content of the video. Also remember — what looks good is a question of personal taste, so keep in mind the guide here is applying to the general taste of players.

1. Do not make terrain that has a vertical degree of ~90. It looks bad and is unrealistic.
    2. When terraforming do not, and I mean do not, use World Edit percentages to randomly add texture to terrain. Same goes for randomly mixing blocks in terrain by hand. Doing this makes the terrain looks messy, hard to look at and unrealistic. Also try to use textures to highlight parts of the terrain by either using darker blocks to apply as shade or using brighter blocks for brighter spots.
    3. Avoid making your decidious trees look like lolipops by having multiple branches, with leaves mixed with air, at different y-coordinates. This makes your tree look more natural; no tree has a cluster of leaves in a ball shape or branches on the same level veey close to eachother.
    4. Make sure you are not overdetailing your build with small details such as heads, leaves or complicated textures. This makes your build messy and hard to look at. Details are meant to catch your eye and are not supposed to be spammed everywhere. Remember, keep it simple silly.